Thirty-Seven Catholic Schools Awarded The 2017 National Blue Ribbon School Award

Catholic schools from 15 arch/dioceses in 10 states will be honored for overall academic excellence in Washington, D.C.

Arlington, VA — The National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) joyfully proclaims that 37 Catholic schools will receive the 2017 National Blue Ribbon at a two-day event in Washington, D.C., November 6-7. This year, Catholic schools are 37 of the 50 private schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

"Academic excellence goes hand-in-hand with the gospel spirit evident in Catholic schools," said NCEA President/CEO Thomas W. Burnford, D.Min. "The honor of being named a National Blue Ribbon school affirms that Catholic schools in the United States are extraordinary and high performing educational communities."

For 35 years, the National Blue Ribbon has been given to public and private K-12 schools nationwide. The program evaluates student achievement with measurable characteristics that help identify not only the high achieving schools – Exemplary High Performing Schools, but also those schools that have achieved despite difficult odds – Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools. For a complete explanation of the program, please visit

As many as 420 schools can be nominated each year. This year, 432 schools were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates the private schools for the award and the states’ commissioner of education nominates the public schools. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program serves three main purposes: to identify the highest achieving schools in the country; to make criteria available to all schools to help them evaluate their current quality status and uncover areas for improvement; and, perhaps most importantly, to facilitate the exchange of information between the award-winning schools and those looking for solutions to problems.

NCEA applauds the following Catholic schools which earned the distinction of being 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools:

Seton Catholic Preparatory, Chandler, AZ
St. John the Evangelist Catholic School, Hapeville, GA
Central Catholic High School, Bloomington, IL
Holy Family Catholic Academy, Inverness, IL
Saint Gilbert Catholic School, Grayslake, IL
St. Edward School, Chicago, IL
St. Josaphat School, Chicago, IL
St. Joseph Catholic School, Libertyville, IL
St. Joseph School, Wilmette, IL
Christ the King School, Lexington, KY
Holy Trinity Parish School, Louisville, KY
St. Joseph School, Crescent Springs, KY
St. Joseph School, Bardstown, KY
Villa Madonna Academy Elementary School, Villa Hills, KY
Little Flower School, Bethesda, MD
Saint John’s Catholic School, Hollywood, MD
Saint Peter’s Elementary School, Waldorf, MD
St. John Regional Catholic School, Frederick, MD
St. John the Evangelist School, Long Green Valley, Hydes, MD
St. Louis School, Clarksville, MD
St. Mary Catholic School, Hagerstown, MD
Nashua Catholic Regional Junior High School, Nashua, NH
All Saints Catholic Academy, Bayonne, NJ
Christian Brothers Academy, Lincroft, NJ
Hoboken Catholic Academy, Hoboken, NJ
Our Lady of the Lake School, Verona, NJ
Saint Francis Cathedral School, Metuchen, NJ
St. Peter Academy, River Edge, NJ
The Academy of Our Lady of Peace, New Providence, NJ
Saint Teresa of Calcutta School, Schwenksville, PA
Saints Simon and Jude School, West Chester, PA
St. Joseph School, Downingtown, PA
St. Maximilian Kolbe Parish School, West Chester, PA
Immaculate Conception School, Watertown, SD
Saint Matthew School, Franklin, TN
St. Bernard Academy, Nashville, TN
Blessed Sacrament School, La Crosse, WI

For more information about the Blue Ribbon Schools, visit the NCEA web page.


Rooted in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) is a professional membership organization that assists its members to fulfill their teaching mission of the Church and to lead, learn and proclaim the good news of Catholic school education. For more information, visit